Women’s Retreat 09

Every September (the 2nd Friday after Labor Day) I go on a 3 day retreat to Trout Lake Camp in Pine River, MN. The first year at the retreat (2005) I roomed w/ 2 ladies from Duluth, MN. We had the best time. They are silly just like I am. They turned out to be 2 prayer warriors. 2 weeks later a prayer warrior at my church passed away from cancer. God had provided 2 people to replace that 1. Every year on retreat we connect as we live about 3 hours apart. And every year I let them know how they can pray for me.

God always teaches me something @ the retreat…this year, during the Saturday night bonfire, the lady leading the singing gave us the option of taking a stick and we had the option of breaking it or tossing it into the bonfire. It represented stuff that we had anger or forgiveness issues with (if I remember correctly)…I broke my stick up into several pieces. I broke off a piece for each area the devil was trying to get me down or take away (my husband, marriage, job, about 10-12 things total and the stick was not that long to begin with). Then I took those pieces and tossed them in the fire. My 2 friends from Duluth were already down at the fire for their sticks. I tossed mine in and rubbed my hands together to make sure all of it got in as the pieces were kind of small. Then I broke down crying in a total God moment w/ hugs and prayers from my 2 friends. It was soooo refreshing and a burden was lifted.

I’m looking forward to next year’s retreat and what God will teach me.

About 4himcamper

Team CAMPer, 4HIM Fan, Artist, Grad Student, Wife/Mom, Abolitionist, Waiting patiently for the ministry that God has for me :D
This entry was posted in God moments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment