Then Sings My Soul Book 3: A review of Robert J Morgan’s Book

This is the third book in a series that covers the history of many beloved hymns.  This volume goes in depths on the history of Christian hymnody as well as covers a few newer songs that take their ranks among the classic hymns that people have been singing for decades and centuries.  The stories are brief but detailed and very well written.

 Anyone who likes history, music, and or biographies will find this book interesting.  When I first started reading the book, it took a little bit for me to get into it.  After a couple of days off from reading it, I picked it up again and found myself enjoying the history behind several hymns that I grew up hearing when I visited my grandparents’ church plus several that I had never heard of.  The behind the scenes look on how each hymn was written is priceless.  Then there is the indepth behind the scenes look of “It Is Well”.  I knew the shorter version where Horatio Spafford lost his daughters at sea, but did not realize that he had 2 more children after that and had lost 1 of them to scarlet fever.  Most of the stories are a page long and are preceded by the hymn that is being discussed.  Several other hymn lyrics are shared throughout that were also written by the composers or as they fit the subject matter or time period discussed.  If you have ever been curious as to the story behind a hymn or how we have modern classics such “Shout To The Lord” and “In Christ Alone”, this book is worth it.  The history of the Christian hymnody is also rather facinating.  We see the progression hymns have made over the centuries and how that has impacted the church.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 FCR, Part 255. 

About 4himcamper

Team CAMPer, 4HIM Fan, Artist, Grad Student, Wife/Mom, Abolitionist, Waiting patiently for the ministry that God has for me :D
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

