Tyndale: A Review of David Teems’ Book

David  Teems writes a thorough as possible biography of William Tyndale.  What is known of Tyndale falls into three categories: documented truth, possible truth, and legend/folklore.  David gives a brief overview of Tyndale’s life through his initial days as a student at Oxford.  He then focuses on Tyndale’s life from his time at Oxford until he is martyred 6 October 1536.  During this period is when we run into most of Tyndale’s legend.

I received the book in time for Christmas Eve and started reading it before company arrived.  It then took me three days before I could read it again since it had been left at my parents’ place twice.  Once I got the book back in hand, I started reading it every chance I had.  I found it fascinating reading how we got the first English Bible based off the original languages of Hebrew and Greek not just the Latin Vulgate as Wycliffe translation was based.  With Tyndale we saw a man that had determination and a love for God that ran deep.  Seeing what he went through to get the New Testament translated as  well as portions of the Old Testament kept me captivated.  Also reading some of the potential though likely untrue conversations that happened as a process of trying to end Tyndale’s translation and publishing added a light side to a book that has several dark moments such as Tyndale going into exile and the fact that the catholic church was willing to dispose of anyone who did not blindly follow the teachings of the church and the pope no matter how much error there was in theology.  Anyone who likes biographies, Bible history, or church history will find this book interesting.  This is also good for someone who likes intrigue in the books they read.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.  I was not required to write a positive review.  The opinions expressed are my own.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 FCR, Part 255.  

About 4himcamper

Team CAMPer, 4HIM Fan, Artist, Grad Student, Wife/Mom, Abolitionist, Waiting patiently for the ministry that God has for me :D
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tyndale: A Review of David Teems’ Book

  1. Thanks so much for your thoughtful review Jennifer. I find biographies of people of faith fascinating. And thanks for you r support o Comment Day as well. I hope you have a blessed day and a wonderful 2012!

  2. 4himcamper says:

    You’re welcome Carl. I like well written biographies as well. This one I found really facinating since I had heard of Tyndale and may have briefly studied about him in a college course 13 years ago. The next book I’m reading sounds intersting as well as it will be stories behind many hymns and if I remember correctly some praise & worship choruses. I should be getting it in a few days.

Leave a Reply

