Discipleship: A Tangent or a Necessary Progression

Over the last few months I have been slowly doing a study on disciple & discipleship.  I have not finished that study yet, but I have come to a realization.  If we are to disciple others by baptizing and teaching them all that Jesus commanded, what is it that Jesus commanded?  So my input oriented mind (StrengthsFinder) is going on a slight but necessary tangent and wishes I had grabbed my physical Bible to proceed with that tangent today.  I want to assist people in understanding what it means to be a disciple of Jesus and how they can then pass the information on to make disciple-makers.  If a person is properly taught what it means to be a disciple and how to train others to do the same, the whole world could be discipled in a matter of years instead of centuries.  To properly train someone in the discipleship process includes knowing what Jesus commanded so that we can teach him or her all of that.  As much as this course of action is a tangent to my disciple/discipleship study, it is also a necessary progression to help others needing to learn the discipleship process.

About 4himcamper

Team CAMPer, 4HIM Fan, Artist, Grad Student, Wife/Mom, Abolitionist, Waiting patiently for the ministry that God has for me :D
This entry was posted in Bible, God moments, Speaking Louder Than Before and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Discipleship: A Tangent or a Necessary Progression

  1. Carl says:

    I think one reason discipleship can be difficult to grasp is that the group Jesus actually discipled- his disciples- were never given a plan. There was no Step A followed by Step B. Jesus taught them through stories and riddles, sometimes giving them answers, sometimes giving them more questions. He humans have a natural tendency to want a plan. Jesus taught that following Him is a life we live, not a creed we recite. You are right. We have to look at the things Jesus told us to do- and do them. That is the road to discipleship.

  2. Carl says:

    OK Jennifer…I stopped by again and still no new post. You may have plenty of valid reasons for this, but I hope one of them is not discouragement. I love your posts, and I look forward to the next one. Your writing inspires, and there is simply not enough of that in our world today. So take care, be blessed, and be sure to let me know when you post again!

  3. 4himcamper says:

    Carl, sometimes it takes me a while to think up content & how to write it. Sometimes I also have to remember that I have a blog…out of sight out of mind applies to me many days. Thinking through one as a follow up to this tangent since I completed the tangent’s list of Jesus’ commands. If I get it written today, I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

