Termites In Our Life

We have termites in our life.  They may not be the physical little pests that devour wood, but they do devour our time and our energy.   Think about what eats up your free time and energy.  For me it is a lot of little things that added up equals most of the day gone and not much to show for it.  It could be as simple as checking social network sites or watching TV.  Those things are not bad, but they can eat up time if not monitored carefully.  Tonight as I review this post that I started 3.5 months ago, I was reflecting on the termite of part of my day, a fun little game that takes almost no time to play, but can also eat up a lot of time.  It is not a bad game, but I need to remember not to let it become a termite eating at my time.  There are plenty of other activities I could have or should have gotten done instead.  Things that might have done more to build the Kingdom of God.  I want to work in the area of discipleship ministry.  I realize that if I want to work in this area of ministry, there are things I need to be more intentional about such as keeping the termites of my life at bay.  Think about how you are serving God.  Are there activities that you would like to do but find that there appears to be no time for them?  Take note of what your day or week is like and see if there are activities that you are doing that are acting as termites.  They may not be bad activities but are activities that could be limited to allow more free time for other more important tasks.  Find the termites in your life that are affecting your time and/or energy causing you not to fully engage in serving God’s intentions and work to keep them at bay for the purpose of serving God more fully.  It is something I need to work on as well. 

And no this post was not the results of termites.  I started it the day after my birthday, could not think of anything beyond the title and first 2 sentences, so I put it aside until something came to mind.  Today something came to mind.

About 4himcamper

Team CAMPer, 4HIM Fan, Artist, Grad Student, Wife/Mom, Abolitionist, Waiting patiently for the ministry that God has for me :D
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

